Sunday in Sochi

It is Sunday, February 9th here is Sochi. This is only my third morning here and I have already lost track of what day of the week it is. Not that it really matters, every day is a competition day, more than one if you are lucky and tough enough. For today, I have decided that I am not tough enough to do more than a single venue today.

Instead of being on the bus at 8:00 to head to the downhill which begins at 11:00, I have decided to get a bit of sleep, and get caught up on images this morning and then head to the biathlon venue later this afternoon for tonight’s Women’s 7.5 km Sprint.

I was really pleased to get a ticket to the Opening Ceremonies! Although it began at 8:14PM (20:14), that doesn’t mean you just show up and shoot. We left the Main Media Center at 4:00 so we could be in position before the doors opened to the public at 5:00. My position was not easy to get to and although I was behind the stage, I was at  the equivalent of the 45 yard line and high enough to really see the displays.

On a photographic note, I was primarily using my 400 f2.8 and 16 to 35 f2.8 zoom, with a bit of fish eye thrown in for fun! It was a wild night adapting to the lighting and I used ISO’s ranging from 1250 to 20,000 (yup 4 zeros).

I hope you enjoy my snaps from a very cool evening!

Sochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening CeremoniesSochi Opening Ceremonies

One thought on “Sunday in Sochi

Leave a Reply

